hinkyzine

Now in Hinkyvision!

A good day to bake March 8, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — hinky @ 7:38 pm

When I’m not taking a nap, watching my kids play video games, or cleaning the toilet, I like to bake.  Today for reasons unknown, I set out to find a prune cookie recipe.  Now, before you get all up in my grill about resembling the elderly; I AM ELDERLY!  My entire life, since I was 4, I have been elderly.  When partygoers were up late in the 1980s, throwing their friends’ underwear in the freezer and listening to Loverboy records, I was off in a dark corner, asleep in my sleeping bag, enjoying my unfrozen underpants.  When I was a teenager, and all my friends were making tips working at local restaurant establishments, I was a candy-striper at a local hospital/convalescent center, sometimes visiting my old residents on days off.  Really.  And when everybody else is eating Velveeta dip and chorizo, I’ve got my prunes.  So can it.

Mark Bittman, one of my favorite cookbook writers and chefs, has a great blog, bitten.  Bittman uses easy-to-find ingredients to make great tasting food in just an hour, sometimes less.  His recipes are simple, and the longer ones require chunks of time largely unattended, so it’s easy, good food all around.  I used his olive oil cookie recipe to make a variation on these.  I wanted something similar for a prune cookie, possibly something like Hamentaschen. But Bittman didn’t have anything like that listed, so I found something else.

The blog that posted the link to this recipe says it is a labor of love, as it requires first mixing up the filling, and then the dough the next day.  I can do that.  But I’m all out of milk, eggs, flour, and some of the dried fruit.  So it looks like I’m going to have to head over to the grocery store.  That’s okay too, because I really need everyone to get out today.  One child is toiling over Legos, one is struggling through Mario Galaxy, and Dad needs a new pair of pants.  Looks like an expedition can get us all moving.  And if that doesn’t work, there’s always prunes.

 

Leave a Reply

