hinkyzine

Now in Hinkyvision!

Haircuts, plumbing, and work-at-home days March 12, 2009

Filed under: General — hinky @ 9:50 pm
Observe Leah, unable to give a rat's.

Observe Leah, unable to give a rat's.

Today a plumber told us our kitchen sink had digested a rubber seal, tried to assimilate it, and then attempted to barf it up through the faucet. Instead, what happened is the predigested seal made it partway up the spout, got stuck, and effectively turned off our water pressure. So we really need a new faucet. Good thing Kevin is at home today.

Kevin works at home on Thursday.

Kevin works at home on Thursday.

At lunch time we’ll go buy a new faucet, and install it ourselves having done it once before. Actually, Kevin will do it, and I will hand him tools and say things like, “Good job, honey,” while eating a banana.

Today I also clipped a little more off my bangs. I am trying to grow out my hair to donate to Locks of Love, and it’s taking TOO LONG. Some people have slow bowels – I have slow hair.  I’m getting bored.  I’ve been waiting for the minimum 8 inch growth for THREE FRACKIN’ YEARS.  Last week I decided to cut bangs, theretofore (looky!  I just made up a word!) non-existent, and NOBODY noticed.  Not that I cared.  But I did want to see if it made a dramatic difference and obviously it DIDN’T.  Today I thought, “Hmmm…maybe I need a few extra,” so I whopped off another 1/4 inch wide chunk or so, and here’s what it looks like:

See Kevin back there over my shoulder?  He looks like my elf advisor/parrot.

See Kevin back there over my shoulder? He looks like my elf advisor/parrot.

Kevin says it makes me look like Cat Power.

I wish.  No, I mean, she WISHES!

I wish. No, I mean, she WISHES!

I think I at least need to get a shirt like that.  Or a beach towel…is that a shirt?  I can’t tell.  It would make a cool shirt for the ultra-patriotic.

ANYWAYZ!  So I’m thinking about going to my hairdresser to see whether I can donate layers, or if I have to have it all one length, because if it looks more interesting (ie; not straight and limp as it looks now), maybe I can stand to wait for the next few inches.  As it is, I have enough to donate if I want to end up with super short hair ala my third grade school picture (hell-ooooo Dorothy Hamill!).

Leah just couldn’t care less.

 

Leave a Reply

