hinkyzine

Now in Hinkyvision!

Everybody bento! March 15, 2009

Filed under: Food — hinky @ 3:26 am

I love reading about bento boxes, especially when there are ideas for quick ones, or pictures of accessories you never would have dreamed of all by yourself.  Usually I read www.justbento.com, but today I stumbled on a new website that featured ideas for moms packing kids’ bento lunches.  Lunch in a Box has a crazy looking homepage that is visually so cluttered, I’m worried my eyes are going to start bleeding, but the ideas on it are great.  I need to figure out what sorts of lunch-y items are good to freeze in advance, thereby saving time in the morning, and I also need ideas for stuff kids eat.  This website provides both, plus many more great tips.  I would love to start packing lunches like this magnificent example:

Type "panda bento" into your google search bar...this ain't the only pic you'll find.

Type "panda bento" into your google search bar...this ain't the only pic you'll find.

But if I’m honest with myself (and I usually am, unless I’m being in denial), I know what I really want is a little mold that can press a boiled egg into the shape of a car.

If you read the following post, you can even see how to dye it:  http://everythingyourmamamade.com/2008/07/23/bento-egg-molds/

If you read the following post, you can even see how to dye it: http://everythingyourmamamade.com/2008/07/23/bento-egg-molds/

Bento boxes are supposed to be healthy, and help you control portion size. But if you’re a kid in elementary school, and you open a lunch box featuring cheese cut into shapes that resemble your favorite Nintendo character, do you really care about portion size? In reality, bento may just be good clean fun, and if it takes plastic accessories to lead us into good health, I think maybe duty calls.

 

One Response to “Everybody bento!”

  1. katie Says:

    Will you pack me a bento box if I have to go back to work?


Leave a Reply

