hinkyzine

Now in Hinkyvision!

By golly, it worked! April 2, 2009

Filed under: Food — hinky @ 10:15 pm

I’m so happy I have finally figured this out: I never seem to find a use for the leftover almond meal that remains as a product of almond milk manufacture. In another post, I’ll document how I do this, but for now, I want to tell you about my fantastic baking breakthrough. I have seen all over the interwebs that people like to use this stuff as a facial scrub, but I want to EAT it, not scrub with it. So today, I put two sticks of butter (you can adapt this using vegan substitutes, by the way), an egg, and about 3/4 cup of sugar in my standing mixer and beat it senseless. Then I added vanilla and the almond meal and enough flour to make it look like cookie dough. Using a teaspoon, I scooped humps of dough onto a parchment-lined cookie sheet, pressed them down with a sugared glass, and baked them til the edges were a little brown (at 375 degrees). It took maybe 13-15 minutes, but that will depend on how done you like them. Here’s the result:

Thievery!

Thievery!

Next time I’ll toy around with spices or replacing the egg with 1T flaxmeal mixed with 1/4 cup water (that’s a good egg substitution). Maybe I can enhance the flavor a little with some almond extract…hmmm…that sounds good too. I’ll let you know what shakes out!

 

One Response to “By golly, it worked!”

  1. Kari P Says:

    You’re a food chemist


Leave a comment