hinkyzine

Now in Hinkyvision!

Hemp – not just for breakfast anymore April 14, 2009

Filed under: Food — hinky @ 7:38 pm

I had a great surprise waiting for me in the mail yesterday – a shipment of samples from Nutiva!

Yesterday's stash - Nutiva hemp seed, hemp shake mix, hem protein powder, and a flax-raisin bar (featured here half-eaten.  For the record, it was not sent in that condition - it was complete before I tore into it).

Yesterday's stash - Nutiva hemp seed, hemp shake mix, hem protein powder, and a flax-raisin bar (featured here half-eaten. For the record, it was not sent in that condition - it was complete before I tore into it).

Nutiva is a company with a conscious; they believe in sustainability, and growing hemp is one way to accomplish that. The back of the drink mix packet includes this sentence: “Growing hemp (a non-psychoactive crop) restores our soils and conserves forests, contributing to a healthy and sustainable world.” Other ingredients they use include acai berries, which they state “provide extra income for indigenous Amazon rain forest dwellers.” Isn’t that cool!

They didn’t send their other big product, coconut. That’s okay. I love coconut, but for now, it’s great just to have some quickie powder mixes to whip up two meals a day. I am trying to make my meals easier, and lower-fat. I’ll still cook for the fam at dinnertime, but having something simple for myself that just requires a blender is very helpful.

See?  Easy.

See? Easy.

Following the directions on the envelope, I mixed the contents of the Amazon Acai flavor with 2T hemp seeds, a frozen banana (or two) and a handful of strawberries. The result, after blending, was a lot like dirt. Now, I have heard this dirty talk about hemp before, and normally I can handle it. I like the earthy flavor you can only get from food that comes directly out of the dirt. Makes me feel like a fluffy little sheep. But this stuff knocked me backward. It had all the appeal of a dog toy you found buried in the yard, which you then decided to clean using your tongue. I added honey and it was much better.

At lunch, I tried the Berry Pomegranate flavor, using 2T coconut oil (look at Nutiva’s website to see it – it resembles Crisco in texture, but tastes like heaven), more strawberries, and honey. It was remarkable! Wonderful flavor, great texture; the coconut oil added a huge boost to my overall hemp morale. So far it’s my favorite.

Zoom in to see the hempstache.

Zoom in to see the hempstache.

The nutty bar in the picture above is good too – very seedy. The ingredient list includes sunflower seeds, sesame seeds, flax seeds, honey, pumpkin seeds, raisins, and almonds – all certified organic. Half of it was enough to get me through from lunch til dinner yesterday. The greatest part of these products (besides the benefits inherent in their ingredients, is they’re low in calories and sugar, but high in protein and fiber. Score.

Depending on the cost of this product, I would totally use it as a substitute for regular meals. The ease of prep is a huge plus, and the health benefits are nothing to sneeze at either.  Thanks, Nutiva!

 

One Response to “Hemp – not just for breakfast anymore”

  1. tinkshui Says:

    Thank you for taking part in CADS, it’s nice to meet you! I look forward to seeing your craftyness.


Leave a Reply

